Cinema attendance in some countries is on the decline. What do you think are the causes of this development and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Although, cinema is becoming increasingly popular all over the world, but the result of a recent research reveals a downward trend cinema viewers affecting many countries in relation to this. This essay will discuss both causes of this trend and will propose a solution to solve this problem. Firstly, one of the main causes for the number of cinema goers to decline is the easy and fast internet access. Unlimited movie download facility from the Internet as well as watching it online is giving people the opportunity to watch their favourite movies at homes. ‘Globalization and popularity of foreign movies’ are two other reasons why people do not go to movie theatres to watch local-made movies. The quality of local-made movies has declined in many countries and that’s why many people think it does not worth to go to the cinema hall to watch a movie. There are some small measures that could be taken to decrease the sensitivity of this issue, restriction on Internet providers for free online movie videos could be an effective measure. Movies are copyrighted and the unlawful access to copyrighted materials for free should be controlled. In particular, the film industry can register a police report against online service providers for illegal copyrights of the original movies and free access to watch these. The quality of local movies should be enhanced to attract more people to watch it in the cinema halls. In summary, the above problems can be solved to some extent by applying the suggested measures. It can be predicted that the drop in cinema attendance could be controlled by taking proper measures.