cientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work.

In the modern world, there has been an accelerating trend of people eating unhealthy food, posing a wide range of detrimental threats to their health. While some people consider education as an ineffective measure to resolve the problem. I would contend that this practice would serve as a definite workable solution to tackling such a problem. There is a common belief that education would not be an effective method of deterring people from consuming a large amount of junk food. Supporters of this view might argue that the modern living style is the root of this issue, which would not be efficiently addressed by education. For example, there are many intellectual officers in favour of fast food due to its convenience and portable manner. Despite their profound nutrition-related knowledge and awareness, these busy consumers opt for fast food for the sake of time-saving. Besides, there is another efficient turning of junk food consumption. For instance, the government could impose higher taxation schemes on junk food. By raising fast food prices, such a strict legal action could yield immediate and widespread effects on consumer behaviour, thus bringing forth a quicker decline in junk food consumption compared to education. However, I would strongly endorse education as an effective key to the junk food over consumption problem. The primary reason is that an appropriate education would efficiently heighten eaters' awareness which may act as a deterrent to people opting for unhealthy food. For instance, once people gain insightful knowledge and awareness about life-threatening cancers and diseases caused by overeating fast food, they would be more likely to put an end to such a Hamil eating habit. Another supporting reason is that nutrition education programs compared to other measures such as imposing higher taxes could result in more sustainable awareness and behaviour change among people from all walks of life, especially children and adolescents. These beneficiaries will collate a lifetime habit of refraining from junk food or restricting such intake. To sum up, although there are reasonable arguments against education, I firmly believe that educational measures would significantly food consumption and deter the problem from being exacerbated further.