Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

Nowadays, young people imbibe more hours in watching television. Irrespective of the fact that their are advantages attributed to this habit but as it is said too much of everything is bad. Therefore, this essay seeks to delve into the merits and demerits of television for children. On the one hand, most television programs are very educative and necessary to supplement what children are being taught in school. These programs are meduim through which children learn various symbols, rhymes and colors. To clarify, some educationists holds that children learn faster by what they see. In order wards, times spent on watching useful programs boost their learning process. Also, watching television is a way of shielding children from getting injured. The television rather keeps them busy. Thus, kids are prevented from engaging in playful activities that might turn out to cause any form injuries. On the other hand, there are also drawbacks to watching televison. For one thing, children are totally inactive while watching television. However, no form of physical exercise is encouraged. Consequently, most children suffer from obesity. In addition, some programs aired on the television are inappropriate for children. A relevant study shows that 70% of violence exhibited by kids are effects of watching television. Finally, at a young and formative stage, communication and interaction is prior to have a healthy social life. Therefore, children who spend more time watching television become socially inactive as they hardly find time to have a conversation. In conclusion, parents should try and encourage moderation in every activity their ward engages in, so as to create a balance in life.