Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

In present days, individuals of younger age are using more of their idle time to watch television compared in recent years. In my opinion, there are both disadvantages and disadvantages of spending too much time in front of the television. To begin with, there are a number of benefits with regards to watching TV. Firstly, children can be educated by simply watching programs that are very much informative. Most parents are surprised that their youngsters already knew the different names of animals even before they enter primary schools. A primary example of an educational program is National Geographic which shows clips and footages of different animals all over the world. Another positive development of watching TV is that it develops communication skills. Youngsters who watch television more often are more likely to discover words and communicate rapidly and more fluently. For instance, Sam, my niece, speaks fluently in English because she watches English children TV shows particularly “Ryan’s Toy Reviews” on a daily basis. On the other hand, being exposed too much on television brings also drawbacks. There are programs that are not suitable for young viewers. These shows promote violence and are detrimental for children both emotionally and intellectually. More importantly, it can condition the mind of young viewers that violence is normal and accepted in the society. To exemplify, my neighbor’s son Cardo, at his very young age, knew already how to curse and speak inappropriate words. He is claiming that he just overheard it from his father’s favorite television program. To conclude, there are many benefits as there are demerits in letting our kids stay in front of the TV. In my personal standpoint, it is the parents’ role to regulate it and take advantage of it.