Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Every country has its law for providing penalizing to the culprits but majority of citizens consider that a fixed sentence judgement is the better option. However, it has its benefits and drawbacks which are discuss in this essay. To begin with, fixed punishment is the penalizing system in which the punishment is same for all culprits if it big crime or a small crime. In addition to, it has various merits because it takes less time in taking any decision regarding damnation. Moreover, it's seem easy for the jurisdiction to give penalty to the culprits and also the public revenge become successful. Indeed, the predetermined penance aware the people for making any unlawful activities meaning that it spread fear among the masses and people will think twice for completing it's intention. On the other hand, this commandment has its downside also. in this system of punishment sometime a person suffer alot because of it intention. It means that if the people steal some food for his starving then this is forgivable crime but if law state the fixed punishment then this is injustice. every person makes differ crime which is on big scale or small but to give same punishment is not the right verdict. For example if rapist and the theft who steal food both the intention are different but the same punishment is not viable. Consequently, fixes punishment have both sides positive or negative, however, I contemplate that fixed punishment is not the better option the penalizing should be done on the criteria of crime.