Children today are too dependent on computers and electronic entertainment. It would be better for them to be outside playing sports and taking part in more traditional pastimes than spending all day indoors.

Most children are glued to their computer or cellphone these days. This is not a positive development because when children spend the whole day playing games on their computer or gaming console, they will develop many health problems. They may even develop behavioural problems. In my opinion, it is more beneficial for children to spend time outdoors playing sports or engaging in other activities. Outdoor games are good for children. They make them fitter and stronger as individuals. Children who play games are healthier. They are also less likely to engage in antisocial activities. Better still, outdoor games require the participation of more than one individual. When children play games like football or cricket, they are also learning several social and management skills. They learn to share and work as part of a team. On the other hand, children who spend the whole time indoors will most probably spend several hours in front of the TV or computer. This may lead to several health problems like obesity and diabetes. These children may also find it difficult to interact with others. Also, when they spend a lot of time on their computer, they are more likely to be exposed to inappropriate materials on the internet. All of these factors can have an adverse impact on their physical and psychological well-being. To conclude, it is not hard to see that there are several benefits to engaging in outdoor activities. Parents should not allow children to waste their whole time in front of the TV or computer. Even in those families where both parents are away at work, parents can use software programs to limit their children’s exposure to television and the internet.