Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school.

It is believed that the best time to learn a foreign language is at the early age. Therefore, some people think children should be taught new language as they start school. I personally disagree with the statement, since the children might get stressed, and there are other lessons which are more important than a foreign language. The following paragraphs will explain some of the reasons in detail. Firstly, it is undeniable that children start their formal education at an early age these days. Some parents have registered their children at the age of three or four, but others have enrolled their children at the age of two. During these periods, children are in the process of learning their mother tongue language. They are still learning the alphabetical words, pronunciation, grammar and vocabularies of their native languages. If the children are then taught a new language, then there is a risk that the children might get mixed up or confused. Secondly, the early-aged children should focus on learning other important things, besides a new language. They should learn subjects like arts and sport. Art is an essential subject for the children as it teaches them about colours and creativities, while sports are also vital for the development of the children’s physical appearance. Besides that, it is also important to teach the children about numbers as well, as it is beneficial for their further studies. In conclusion, I personally disagree that the children should learn a foreign language at the early age. It is better for the children to focus on their native language first, and there are other subjects which are more important for them to learn.