Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Even though there are concrete reasons leading to the substantial increase in TV watching, and thus, decline in leisure activities amidst children, I opine that implementable solutions for this negative trend exist. It is initially obvious why the rate of children, keeping watch towards TV broadcasts is mushrooming, and this is due to the television attraction aimed at drawing its viewers. In this way, children pay full and long-term attention not only to conventional and their age-related telecasting, but also to age-limited content – pornographic illustrations, since there is no parental control over their interests. Following this, educational, sports or creative perspectives are another underlying factor contributing emphatically to the favour of youngsters. As the afore cited spheres have ceased their impact on the young generation, as can be seen, they have embarked on engrossing into sedentary activities, but not into creativity or recreational occupation. Therefore, the bottom line is not exactly about revealing the skyrocketing number of children engrossing into watching television, but is about the revision of the impetus of this overwhelming trend. Turning to the specific approaches to mitigate this issue, the censorship is the paramount panacea, in which TV programs should be reformed, precisely, the mass media should broadcast only educational, intellectual or interactive blueprints aimed at flourishing the creativity and intention of children. As a great illustration, as children are on the way of ripening, it is a straightforward task to draw their attention. However, if provided solutions how to alter their habits turn out to be ineffectual, the forced averting from TV shows is another remedy to tackle this challenge. And this can be done exclusively by parents who are the only ones, adept at bringing reversal to children’s life. Thus, they can restrict a child’s watching time interval. In conclusion, although the popularity of constant watching television remains undiminished, the balance should be maintained by the collaborative efforts of both parents and media.