Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

In the not too distant past, youngsters were empowered with adequate freedom and relaxation. Nowadays, however, those below the age of eighteen have to face enormous stress. It is essential to develop a detailed understanding of these challenges so that the steps may be taken to alleviate them. To begin with, the youth of today are pressurized by the schools, parents and the wider society. In classrooms, teenagers are expected to achieve high grades and to be like role models set by parents. For instance, in India, the competition is to an extent where it’s a crime if a student receives a single mark less than their peer. Moreover, adolescents have to confront peer pressure and are desperate to be respected by those of similar age. Finally, these young and vulnerable individuals are bombarded with messages from advertisers by exploiting the fears and insecurity which the schoolchildren naturally have. The situation is unacceptable and demands immediate attention. To address it, schools and parents should encourage kids and create an environment wherein grades shouldn’t matter and their inner talents should be focused. Schools should remove grade system which would ultimately reduce the pressure to perform among peers. Furthermore, the authorities should limit the advertisements aiming at children and harder check the content of it before publishing. To conclude, we are bringing up a generation of children who are either self-obsessed or lack self-esteem. If the situation is not acted upon immediately then we will have to pay a heavy price in the near future.