Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor that their students eat and the amount of exercise they do.

Childhood obesity has become a cause of concern in Australia to an extent that two third of the children are obese. This essay will discuss why I completely disagree that schools should take measures to what their pupils eat. Firstly, one of the disagreements is that educational centres are for studying not for eating and exercises. Teachers are expected to teach and educate their pupils on new skills that will be useful when they graduate. Secondly, it is the responsibility of parents to cook their wards meal. This, to an extent will serve as a guarantee for what a child consumes and may not have a negative effect on their body system because it is a homemade dish. For instance, in a recent interview of a model, who has won several awards, explained how she strictly eats family made food and how her parents ensured she and her siblings wakes up as early as 5: 00am on a daily basis for some indoor and outdoor exercises. Parents need to take ownership of their kids' well-being. On the other hand, the number of hours spent in schools is more than the time spent at home. This could be an oversight for parents to ignore their responsibilities and leave it for college teachers that is more concern with the child's studies and less concern with their consumption provided they are fine. For example, my sister that is a secondary school teacher, cares more about impacting her students with knowledge rather than controlling what her pupils eat. This for sure will be useful in the future. Finally, school is for learning while a home is for caring about what a child eats and all workouts done. In my opinion, I absolutely disagree that schools should have control of kids' diet.