Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the modern world, the number of private cars is increasing. In this regard, it is true that now transporting goods and getting a final destination are getting harder for car drivers. I completely agree with this statement, however, there are many ways to solve this problem. There is no denying that the main cause of this problem is affordable types of vehicle that can be used by city dwellers without any struggles. In others words, the world of vehicles is advanced and reduced in price. Consequently, many individuals have owned a auto. A good illustration of this is big cities, where every family has at least one automobile. Moreover, there is a wide range of vehicles, which can be used for transportation, such as bicycles, motor bicycles and trucks. There are making the situation even worse. For example, if private car owners share their machine with someone, the traffic jam can be reduced. On the other hand, the government regulation can alleviate this situation. It is clear that if the authorities, tax drivers heavily, they will use public transports, such as buses and underground. To illustrate, in New Zeland, having a private auto is costly. As a result, many town dwellers prefer to use public transports. Furthermore, the authorities can prohibit to import foreign transports in their country. It will motivate domestic business and reduce traffic jam. For example, German is widely known because of its strict policy to imported transports. As a result, they are producing their brands, such as Mercedes and Audi. To conclude, although traffic jam is a major issue for the authorities, it can be solved by collective measures, which are taken by the government, such as introducing extra taxes for the drivers and prohibiting to import vehicles from abroad.