Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

With the advent of globalization and increase in the standard of living of the people, car ownership has proliferated over the years. The sore in the population is adding colossal number of motor vehicles with the size of the cities on the verge now. To my utter dismay, big cities are now becoming a hub of traffic; subsequently, the government can take stringent actions to curb the number of vehicles running on the roads. This essay shall delineate the humongous reasons for the increase in road traffic there by suggesting the stringent laws that the authorities can take. Due to progress in technology and manufacturing, these days we witness a range of automobiles which are produced to fulfill every desire and budget. Although in old times only affluent families could afford to buy cars, now everyone seems to be able to buy one. Furthermore, infrastructures in major cities have not changed in spite of rapid advancements. For instance, the size of the streets and avenues has remained unchanged. Thus, having more traffic appears to be an inevitable consequence of the improvements and underdeveloped city structures. Notwithstanding that, governments need to take some actions in order to dishearten society members to use their cars. The foremost measure might be the expansion of the street to minimize traffic congestion. While major cities have broad streets, traffic appears to be controlled. Another argument tends to be providing convenient alternatives for transportation, which might be alluring, ranging from modern bus to high-speed subway systems. These facilities should offer safer, faster, and more affordable services to attract people. A recent initiative by the Government of Delhi in India, is the introduction of odd and even day of cars running on the roads as per there registration numbers. Thus making it less number of cars hitting the roads and also controlling the pollution levels of the city. Hence, it can be inferred that by considering these options, authorities might be able to weaken traffic. In conclusion, it is true that the number of car ownership has boomed over the past three decades. However, by enlarging streets and providing some accessible public service governments can tackle with this problem.