Public transportation could be made free of charge. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this change.

Public transport can be made free of cost by the authorities. Although there are certain advantages of this approach, it has various detrimental effect of this change. This essay will cover two areas: advantages of this development, which consist not only poor people get benefitted but also environment effect; and its disadvantages, which include effect on economy and overload on public transport. To begin with, Firstly if public transport made free of charge for people, it brings many advantages to people. No doubt, Countless people of a country will get benefited from this and they can travel freely and use their earning to fulfil other basic needs. It helps people to get out of poverty. Secondly, it helps in reducing the level of pollution. As most of the people will not use private vehicles to travel due to free public transport and it helps to reduce gases, which generate from fossil fuel cars and other type of vehicles. On the flip side, making public transport free can bring many disadvantages to any country and society. Transport authority collects many types of taxes from the privately owned cars which includes road tax, toll tax, GST and many more. If public transport made free, government tax collection will reduce drastically and as a result, it will effect on the country's economy. Another negative effect will be overloaded on public transport. Almost everybody will start using this free service which results as overload on public transport which creates may other issues like traffic management as well. In conclusion, Even though removing the fare charged to public transit passengers brings many advantages to public, it has more disadvantages to the society and government.