Buying things on the internet, such as groceries, books and air tickets is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping this way outweigh the disadvantages.

The idea of online shopping is gaining ground in this present generation. A significant number of people, purchase commodities via the internet. There are some drawbacks of shopping online, but there is one huge benefit ( convenience) that makes people shop this way and therefore the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason why people buy things online is that it saves time and energy, which consequently increases productivity. In the world today, a lot of people work two or more jobs, or even longer hours, in order to make ends meet. In order to cater for themselves and their families, they buy food items, books, as well as flight tickets, from the comfort of their homes or places of business, without having to miss out on other activities. Furthermore, it eliminates the stress associated with the conventional forms of procuring items as goods can be delivered to one's doorstep. For instance, a working mother of four, who is also a business woman can order dinner for her family at the close of work to enable her to have more personal time with her children. Those opposed to this, believe that online shopping causes isolation, by reducing the amount of physical contact people have with other human beings. However, this is not the case, as the world is now a global village. Online transactions are done by majority of people and this in turn fosters human interaction through social media platforms. For example, a survey done in Italy in 2018, revealed that most citizens purchased items for China and now frequently talk and relate exceptionally well with the Chinese as opposed to the happenings a decade ago. In conclusion, internet shopping is becoming increasingly popular. The  fact that online shopping reduces stress and inconvenience and also provides options for individuals, clearly makes the advantages for greater than the negatives