Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that longer prison term is the best solution in reducing crime. However, some sections of people think and believe of other better options in decreasing crime. This essay agrees that creating awareness program of law and punishment in the society helps reducing crime. Creating awareness and sensitization program in community is the best option in reducing crime. Socialize and letting every single individuals in the community know about the law of the land and how tough and painful punishment would be in committing crime. The recent study by the National Commission of Women & Children found out that after whole Bhutan sensitization program on law of abusing women in the community had dramatically decrease in crime related to women. However, certain sections of people still believe in longer sentence term in the prison the best solution. Putting individuals convicted crime in life imprisonment prevents and reduces crime because the person who convicted to crime once will repeat the same in the future and therefore, sentencing such people in prison for life long will definitely reduce the crime. For instance, Last year, in Bhutan three young men who vandalized and theft numerous religious items were imprisoned for life. Despite this, life imprisonment is not a best solution, the person who convicted to crime should let him learn from the mistakes and correct by having other way of punishment. To conclude, criminals sentencing for longer term in prison may decrease crime in the society, however, there should be some place for person to learn lessons and improve by creating various awareness program in the community.