Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is true that more and more people have chosen online shopping as their shopping method. Despite having its own drawbacks, shopping on the Internet has brought a lot of benefits to the customers. On the one hand, this way of shopping has tremendous advantages. First, it’s undeniable that the Internet has changed our consuming behaviors and made it a lot more easier for people to purchase their goods. We have past the days when we have to go to supermarket to buy groceries or to a bookstore to buy books, now everything can be done in just a simple click. For instance, to buy airplane tickets, I don’t have to take the time to go a travel agency, I can just stay at home and make the purchase on the airline’s website. Secondly, this convenience of online shopping helps companies lower the cost of production and delivery, thus resulting in the reduction of prices. Finally, people can make comparisons of products on the Internet, which help them purchase the product with the best price & quality. On the other hand, online shopping still have some drawbacks. It might contain some risks in the process of online transactions which could leak people’s confidental credit card informations. For example, a few months ago, a Vietcombank user reported being stolen 1 billion VND in her bank account by hackers. The indicent happened after the customer made a purchase on the internet. Furthermore, not all the shopping websites can be trusted beucase the quality of their products may not stay true to what is advertised. Consumers can also be easily swayed by advertisements on the Internet and end up buying goods impulsively. In conclusion, online shopping is clearly a modern advance and it will shape up the way we purchase goods in the future.