Some people think that fittest and strongest individuals and the team can achieve success in sports, while others believe that success depends on mental attitude.

It is often said that in sports, the team with vigorous and well-built members are more likely to be successful. However, others claim their mind-set during a sports competition is much important. Both arguments are valid and will be discussed further on this essay. To begin with, many groups with the toughest participants are believed to, most of the times, end up victorious in sports. It is because these athletes gain so much strength from doing extensive physical trainings, which made their body work at its maximum capacity without getting so tired easily in a game. For instance, basketball players who have spent a lot of time in the gym to have their best physical condition, usually survive longer hours in the court during a tournament. As a result, they can perform well and most probably escalating their chance to win against their opponents. Nevertheless, mental attitude also plays a significant part in sports event. It is important for the team members to psychologically condition their mind prior and during a fight, because according to studies, when people have an optimistic state of mind they perform well and feel motivated to reach their goal. A classic example would be when trainers cheer athletes by shouting at them, with phrases that conveys encouraging words in relation to winning. Thus, they feel more confident and more inspired to win the championship trophies. In summary, I think having a robust body and positive outlook are both imperative for the people in sports. They will stand out in a competition by being at their best physical and mind state, and an athlete should have both whenever they compete.