Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

E-commerce has dramatically changed the way people do business and purchase products and services. With billions of Internet users, online shopping is no longer a theory, rather it has changed people’s lifestyles and buying habits to a great extent. Although this has several drawbacks, the benefits of it are far more significant. There can be some minor downsides to buying pieces of stuff on the Internet, one of which is related to the quality of products. As for the former, people suppose that they find it hard to check materials of products compared to shopping in stores. Since an intense competition in the market, they would concentrate to boost selling rather than a heavy reliance in demonstrating products, which leads to the fact that most customers seem to waste money when the products would not be similar to the description on the websites. This can be explained why individuals gradually lack trust for their online purchases. However, some reliable shopping sites still have a warranty policy and return or exchange policies. To take the Amazon website as an example, with the attitude forward consumers, this organization requires precision of products from sellers who upload pictures directly to Amazon websites, and they also have return or exchange policies if consumers have any complaints about the product quality. On the other hand, online shopping can have several upsides which outweigh these disadvantages. One advantage could be that shopping online offers a great deal of convenience, which results in the fact that online shopping gives people the opportunity to shop 24/7 and also reward consumers with a “no pollution” shopping experience. With the widespread use of hand-held smart devices, shopping is solely a few finger taps. In other words, they no longer need to travel a long distance or wait in a long queue to pay their bills. The increasing convenience is certainly illustrated by door-to-door services as a way to get products, which enables customers to save much time and energy. Furthermore, consumers enjoy greater freedom to purchase global products from renowned websites like eBay and Amazon, and compare the quality and price of a product before making a purchasing decision. In conclusion, the overwhelming benefits online shopping offers far outweigh the few demerits it has. I personally am an online shopper and I believe that this has immensely improved our freedom of shopping and lifestyle.