Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How might it be remedied?

There are several reasons why elderly people can isolate themselves from the outside world. Isolation leads to loneliness, and aloneness leads to isolation. We must all unite our efforts to break this vicious cycle that has major repercussions on our society. In this essay, I intend to delve into the consequences of this issue. Firstly, desolation should not be taken lightly since it can lead to serious consequences such as depression, sleeping problems, lack of confidence, and most importantly suicidal thoughts. This can lead to some medical problems like, cardiac arrest, variation in blood pressure due to increased stress and anxiety. All these are injurious. A 2006 study conducted by the Centre for Cognitive and Social Neuroscience, at the University of Chicago, found loneliness can add thirty points to a blood pressure reading for adults over the age of fifty. Secondly, there are several reasons for this condition. Some of which are, death of spouse, children moving away either for studies or living, loss of friends or family members. Thirdly, some illness such as Alzheimer-a short term or long-term memory loss, skin diseases can keep the people as introverts or folks. There would be a generation gap, and older generations would get a cultural shock. So, they can’t cope with the new generation styles-which can also create detachment. On the other hand, as the people would grow old, they would go on becoming weaker and weaker and would have to depend on their families to fulfil their needs. There are lots of pros in living with elder family members or living as a joint family. Older generations have a lot of life experiences which can be shared with the new ones. Thereby, can eradicate the remoteness for these old souls. In addition, families should be closer to their elderly members and pay attention to the signs indicating that a seniors’ well-being might be deteriorating. Loneliness and segregation among the elderly is, first and foremost, a social issue that must be closely monitored by our governments, the medical community, social workers, organisations, etc. Visiting the person whom you find feeling abandoned, calling them, showing some patience to listen them, encouraging them, inviting them to home for get together or take them for out, enhancing social support, are some remedies, I find, would be the ways to eliminate this problem. To conclude, it is our duty as a society to prevent our elderly members from suffering from confinement in order to conquer friendlessness and its consequences. Nevertheless, the right therapist can help individuals build social skills and connect with others. Becoming a human- showing humanity can relief the concerned person from feeling lonely.