Global warming is one of the most serious issues facing the world today. What are some of the causes of global warming? How is it affecting our planet, and what can government and individuals do to solve the problem?

The probability of being a victim of crime is much higher in cities than in smaller towns or villages. This trend is mainly due to the anonymity of urban spaces and the prevalence of poverty in inner-city areas. However, there is a range of measures that could be implemented to resolve the issue of city crime. One of the reasons for the low crime rate in rural centres is their stronger sense of community. In small towns, the likelihood of people knowing their neighbors is very high and, as a result of these stronger community links, people are both less likely to commit a crime and more likely to be arrested if they do. Another cause is the potential financial return of a crime, which is much higher in major cities than small towns. Compare, for example, the amount of money a thief would make from robbing a major urban supermarket as opposed to a local convenience store. However, it is probably the vast gap between the rich and poor in cities that triggers most urban crime. When people living in poverty live in close proximity to the wealthiest members of a society, it is no wonder that crime occurs. There are a number of ways to lower the urban crime rate. Firstly, the government should invest in community policing. If people see the same police officers everyday, not only will it foster a sense of togetherness in the public, but it will also make criminals fear being recognized for a crime. The best way to tackle inner-city crime, however, would be to narrow the gap in the standard of living between all city dwellers through tax reform, which would reduce people’s motivation for committing a crime. Although I concede that this would be a difficult task, it is interesting that crime is less of a problem in Scandinavian cities than American ones, which must surely be the outcome of their much fairer social welfare system. In conclusion, the lack of community in urban areas and the wide gap between rich and poor both lead urban areas to suffer more from crime than rural ones. Only When governments are able to ensure that everybody living in a city has the same wealth and opportunities, will this situation be remedied.