Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Please discuss the two views and give your opinion

History is studying and getting to know about the past of a nation. Some people believe that history does not have much to offer in terms of earning whereas another set of people believe that it does offer great learnings. This essay will discuss why studying history is beneficial to appreciate the present. A popular belief is that studying the past has nothing to do with the present and future, and it should not be considered. This belief stem from the fact that bygones are not important and to march ahead we should focus on what is coming next. Although this point of view is not completely wrong but underestimating the past can prove appalling. For example, learning from the mistakes of its past leaders a nation can formulate its foreign policies with regards to other nations. The other school of thought holds the thought that it is worth having insights into the past to understand contemporary life. Firstly, it provides a sense of belonging to the citizens of a country to know about the heritage. For example, a large section of Indian population cherishes their customs. Secondly, studying history offers great learnings from practices which should not be repeated such as apartheid. Thus, it makes sense for countrymen to have knowledge about history of their country in order to make in informed decisions about present life. To sum up, I would like to reinstate the fact that for every citizen correct awareness of its country’s past will aid them in comprehending present life.