Below is a map of the city of Brandfield. City planners have decided to build a new shopping mall for the area, and two sites, S1 and S2 have been proposed.

In these modern days, it is undeniable that crime rates are significantly rising all over the world. Therefore, a lot of people argue that the capital punishment is the best solution to cope up with this problem. On the contrary, I disagree with this route since I believe in giving second chances to mend the mistakes and start all over again. This is due to the fact that once the capital punishment has taken place, it cannot be undone in the cases when someone realizes that it was a false decision. Firstly, these attackers can be provided with a second opportunity in case they are willing to change themselves. The Government can put them into rehabilitation centres to make sure they regain their good human nature. Referring to the statistics, a recent research proved that rehabilitation centres have transformed many lives of criminals for the betterment of them, thereby for society. This ensures that we can obtain a nation free from criminals and crime rates and offering a second life for the offenders to live their lives that can benefit the society. Adding on, the death penalty is an irreversible action as once the person is hanged, the soul of a person cannot come back. Judges are also humans, they can make mistakes, they are no God, which means they don’t know the exact situation of the crime, thus they may give the wrong judgement. For instance, there was a person who was sued for raping 3 women. However, after 8 years, it came out that the accusation was a lie and those 3 women had made up the case. Unfortunately, the decision couldn’t be altered since the so called criminal was already dead. This shows the clear fault of being a human, not knowing the precise situation and giving the death penalty to another human. Lastly, murdering someone, whether a criminal or not, is totally against the laws of nature, we are no one to decide if someone lives or not. In the cases when someone is proven guilty, the authorities can put him/her into prison for ever to teach him a lesson for his wrong doing instead of ending his entire lifespan. Every individual has a family attached to him/her, the jury must also consider their wellbeing at the same time. In conclusion, although applying death punishment decreases crimes in a country, providing another opportunity to these people involved in criminal activities can help them to transform their lives for the betterment of the society.