Being a celebrity- such as a famous film star or sports personality-brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

There is no doubt that famous sports personalities and film stars undergo numerous problems and benefits for being celebrities. The main problem is that their privacy gets affected, however, in my opinion, the advantages of being famous personality such as earning respect and popularity certainly surpass any of its disadvantages. To begin with, undoubtedly, the private lives of famous television and sports stars are always invaded by others. In other words, owing to their popularity, the public is often keen to know about the happenings in the day to day life of these personalities. As a consequence, most of them are followed by the paparazzi all the time which usually affect their personal life. To exemplify, according to a report by the New York Times, the late actress Marilyn Monroe, used to hide in her house for several days to avoid paparazzi. Thus, extreme popularity often takes away the freedom of having personal lives from these stars. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned drawback, a strong case for being a celebrity can be drawn. The crucial advantage is that most of the celebrities earn huge respect and popularity for their work not only in the native country but also in other nations. As a result, they receive a gesture of respect and love for their hard work and unique skills in their respective work. To exemplify, the famous Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has a fan following throughout the world and, moreover, he has received an award of honour from the queen of London. Hence, celebrities have the potential to make their family and nation proud. In conclusion, although popularity affects the private lives of celebrities, in my opinion, the merits of acquiring admiration and appreciation far outweigh its demerit.