Bar chart: Shares of expenditures for selected categories, United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Japan, 2009.

High school children these days are under great pressure of completing different tasks for their academics. However, some people suggest that in this busy schedule, time should be taken to be a part of unpaid community service and I totally agree with this view as participating in unpaid community service transforms the students into better individuals as well as boosts their motivation. To begin with, a school’s role is not only to teach students about academic subjects, but also to imbibe some fundamental qualities like, to be a good citizen of the country. To explain further, a student is well learned only when he possesses good qualities and has a right attitude towards the society along with being successful at studies. Such a student who is helpful and is educated will build a better nation. So, unpaid community service should be a part of student academics. Another point to note is that while helping others, students get a great sense of satisfaction which indeed helps them forget all the stress that they obtain due to academics. For instance, when I was at school, I took part in community services, and I felt great pleasure when I helped some local children who needed some tuition. The smile that I had seen on the faces of children that I helped, gave me more motivation to study and become more helpful to others. Therefore, unpaid community programs should be encouraged in schools. In a nutshell, students get overall education and feel stress relief by being a part of voluntary community service. Therefore, school management should include unpaid community service as part of high school programmes.