At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

With the ever-growing population of the world, it is quite common to observe certain countries with a relatively large number of young adults, compared to the older population. In this essay, I plan to explain and underline the advantages associated with such a generation-ratio situation and how they, quite successfully, outweigh the disadvantages. We observe a large number of young adults in countries such as India, Canada, and Singapore. One plausible reason for a younger to older population ratio mismatch, apart from the fact that the world observed a population boom in countries like India in the '70s and '80s, could be rooted in the fact that as compared to the present-day nuclear families, the families of the previous decade saw parents raising at least two to three children. This contributes to a larger youth dominated population which I strongly believe is key to reorienting the country's goals for the next 15-20 years. In my experience, I have often observed that there is a distinct generation gap between people of the older and the younger generations which contributes to diverging opinions and ideologies. In my country, India, it is not uncommon to state that the ideologies of life and the responsibilities of the youth are a common topic of debate among older people. These eventually lead to ego clashes and hence, to a bifurcation of the school of thought which pushes people to take stands on sensitive issues. In the recent past, we saw the immediate removal of article 377 which disapproved of people of the LGBTQ+ community. This topic was extensively debated and it is not a gross generalization to state that the legalization of the freedom to possess a unique sexual identity was looked down upon by the older generation, it was only because of the new-wave paradigm shifts in the school of thought among the youth that the judgment on the issue could see the light of day. This is a prime example of the youth probing for common ground and reorienting the country from certain social stigmas to a brighter and more liberal future. The youth also play an important role in shaping the spirit that would eventually go on to encourage the population to pave a new path that the country would follow into the future, this path could be novel advancements in science such as the second quantum revolution we are observing in countries like Canada or a pathway into a more peaceful and non-violent future which we are observing in Ethiopia, where the young prime minister, Abiy Ahmed was awarded the Nobel peace prize for dampening the border tensions with the neighbouring country Eritrea and probing for solutions to a violence-free future for the country. The population ratio mismatch happens in cycles which are rare but history has shown us that we are to make the most of it. When used correctly, the youth of today could bring about another Renaissance, or another industrial revolution, or even another golden age. In conclusion and in light of the above mentioned, I believe that advantages of the situation greatly outweigh the disadvantages and that a youth-dominated country could bring about a revolution that could serve to be a great benefit to humankind of the future generations.