Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is advisable that children should be introduced to a foreign language at elementary school than secondary. The principal advantage of teaching a foreign language at primary school is that it ensures a better future for children while the main disadvantage is the pressure on the premature minds. This essay will argue why the benefits of learning a foreign language at an early age dominate the drawbacks. To begin with, children who approach more than one language since elementary school have a tendency to get better jobs and more opportunities than those who do not. It is evident that businesses need people who possess foreign languages to improve communication. In addition, children have the ability to pick up language much faster than adults because they have a receptive mind and do not afraid to make mistaks. A research carried out by students of Harvard University claims that children at the age of 4-8 can learn a new language better than 80% of adults. Therefore, accessing to a foreign language at a young age will provide children with competitive advantages in life. However, learning an entirely new language can confuse children as well as put pressure on them. Beside maths, literature and many other subjects which have been already stressful enough, learning a second language can be tricky and time-consuming. This type of burden can withhold their mental and personal growth. Despite this, a simple solution could be established by adjusting the schedule. In conclusion, although there could be negative effects of foreign language acquisition in primary education, the perks of it absolutely outnumber downsides since it plays an important role in the future development of children.