At some schools, some lessons for young students (ages 5-8) include video games as a way to increase students’ interest in learning. Some people believe this is a very effective way for young students to learn, while others believe it is too distracting

By and large, the contemporary age is no strange to the notion of education and its importance in our life. Without a detailed plan for education affairs, it depends on chance or exceptional talents of students that they can make remarkable improvements. In this regard, while some people are of the opinion that playing video games can be counted as a distraction for students, my personal viewpoint tends to align with the opinion that these video games can help students develop their essential talents. I have some reasons for this, two of them will be explicated hereunder. To begin with, when students play different video games in the academic environment, they can get to with the sense of competition. As a matter of fact, education without competition is similar to life without progress, a static situation where the cream does not rise to the top because there would be no desires and no goals to march to different drum beats and to take something that has even been taken before. Competition can teach us to dig deep and find resources we never knew we had, providing us with the opportunity to explore new ways to succeed. The pressure to win or succeed, brought about by competition, can inspire more imagination and inspires us to come up with various solutions. Should students play video games in the classroom, they can develop their abilities in competing with others. To get at the details of this, my own experience is an outstanding example. Buying a PlayStation for me and my brother, my father wanted to encourage us to develop our abilities in the life. In fact, my father claimed that each of us who gets the higher mark at the end of the week can use PlayStation for five hours more than the other one. Encouraged to play more, my brother and I started to compete with each other, and our marks in turn raised. Apart from the above-mentioned reason, I am convinced that by playing video games in classrooms, students can be entertained in such a manner that benefits them in terms of lowering stress level. To clarify, between works, relationships, academic efforts, maintaining friendships, community involvements, and personal fulfillment, it is a wonder that most of us can even find time to catch our breath, and when the situation gets worse and the stress of it impacts all aspects of our life, the body responses to this stress with different reactions. When the situation gets worse, one of the best treatments is to get a worthy distraction. In fact, one of the ideal distraction we can get is entertainment because when we are entertained, the brain thinks of other things and releases endorphins, the hormones which are responsible for feeling good. Students, nowadays, feel stress out inside and outside academic environment, so it can be worthwhile to get an entertainment, and playing video games can be a pleasant entertainment for students, notably the ones who are in the 7 to 13 age bracket. All in all, for the reasons mentioned above and a whole array of others I strongly hold that to play such video games, is far more expedient for students. In spite of that, both playing such games and traditional viewpoint of education about using technologies offer various pros and cons. To pick one over another would be a personal inclination based on the one’s demands, ambitions, and desires.