As well as making money businesses also have a responsibility towards society

There is a view that companies are responsible for society as well as pursuing their profit. I totally agree with this opinion for the following reasons. The main reason why I agree with the view that businesses have a responsibility to society is that they can affect people’s behavior significantly. Their products can change people’s life and may endanger an individual’s life. In recent years, looking at and manipulating smartphones while driving has been a serious problem, leading to the increase in the number of fatal traffic accidents. It is also possible to say that companies can have a considerable impact on people’s appearance. The advertisement can create an ideal image of appearance and the fashion trend. Many individuals imitate the image, which make people wear similar cloths and look similar to others. The second reason is that businesses also have an enormous effect on people’s health. New drugs and medical devices has been developed and contributing to the improvement of human health. For example, new molecular targeting drugs has improved terminal cancer patients’ life expectancy dramatically. However, companies sometimes make a decision which may affect society negatively. Many pharmaceutical companies do not develop unprofitable drugs. One good illustration is the development of drugs against Ebola virus. This virus is extremely lethal, but companies are unwilling to develop medications for the disease because of the small number of patients, which does not bring about a profit for the companies. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that companies have social responsibility because they can have a significant influence on people’s behavior and health.