Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries thats people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Nowadays, tourism plays a viral role in the economic development of nations. Although, it is true that local cultures and environments of the countries are affected negatively for some reasons, there are still some solutions that tourists can take to minimize these damages. The serious environmental impacts of tourism industry are undeniable. Firstly, trees and forests are destroyed to construct tourist accomodation such as resorts, hotels, which contributes to reducing pristine areas and deforstation. This can result in soil erosion, forest fire and even climate changes that is a global problem now. In addition, mass tourism destroy national and cultural identities by virtue of the appearance of foreign cultures. Visitors bring their own customs, traditions and especially languages to communicate and fall in line with the locals so residents will gradually learn their languages and copy their habits. Nevertheless, these harmful impacts can be reduced considerably by some actions taken by tourists. Travellers should preserve local and natural areas by complying with rules like not touching ancient monuments. This is because too many visitors try to touch relics for their misconception. Moreover, they should be aware of not leaving litter, especially not throwing garbage in natural or historical areas. This is a little thing that everyone can do but plays a crucial role in preserving local cultures and environments. In conclusion, it is important for people to immediately take actions together to preserve tourist attractions. And the best way to do this is to have a good sense.