As the process of urbanization, there are more and more skyscrapers built up to facilitate the increasing need for space and accommodation. Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

The recent wave of immigrants moving from rural areas to more metropolitan regions has been causing an increasing number of high-rise buildings to be constructed to resolve the rising demands of accommodation. Despite the many advantages of contemporary buildings, I believe this is a negative trend in regard to prospective benefit. From environmental perspective, the construction of skyscrapers includes million tons of steel, glass and several environmental-unfriendly materials every year. Those substances are one of the main reasons causing the increasing temperature and urban heat island (UHI) effect due to the trapped radiation in the atmosphere. On the other hand, the sealed structure of high-rise buildings could not allow it to be naturally ventilated; therefore the structure requires vast conditioning unit, which releases destructive gases into the surrounding atmosphere. Several scientific researches have been done to prove that harmful gases from air conditioning systems like CFC are the direct factors contribute to the destruction of the ozone layer and widespread impact of greenhouse effect on the Earth. From economical point of view, contemporary buildings are putting a strain on the electric power system in the context of running out resources in maintaining habitable condition. Skyscrapers are unable to be naturally lit. Thus, energy is squandered for massive mechanical ventilation system and operating the lighting system, both to practically meet the basic life requirement and for the building to be completely functioned. Overall, despite there is an increase in demand for contemporary buildings in order to provide accommodations for society, I would argue that this is a negative trend that would bring back several undesirable outcomes in the future.