As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Pollution levels have been increasing at alarming rates during recent years. This common issue can be attributed to the large increase of privately owned vehicles in the cities. This essay will discuss how car pooling and increasing usage of public transport by the people can actually help in resolving the pollution problem. Firstly, car pooling can help in reducing the pollution levels in the cities. For example, people living in same or close by societies, can pool cars to work and back home. This will not only help in reducing the pollution level, as there will be lesser cars on the road producing pollution, but will also help in saving money for the people pooling cars together. Hence, pooling cars can help in reducing the city pollution. Secondly, people should be encouraged to use public transport instead of private transport. For example, people can use public transport such as metros, buses, etc to drive to work and back. This will greatly help in reducing the pollution as a lot of people will be using public transport together, which would help in removing a lot of cars from the roads, which would ultimately result in reduction of pollution. Hence, encouraging public transport will help in reducing the pollution. To conclude, increase in private car ownership is the reason for increase of pollution in cities. The common issue can be tackled by motivating people to pool cars and to use public transport, as both the solutions will not only help in reducing the number of vehicles present on roads, but, will also help in saving money for the people.