Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this.

Nowadays, some countries have introduced anti-tobacco laws in order to prevent health issues among their citizens, while others completely ignore that problem because they think that it is a personal choice and no governmental regulation in this area is required. Personally, I believe that tobacco users should be banned from smoking at work or in other public facilities as it is harmful to others’ health. Some countries follow the rule that people should have freedom in their choices, and it is not legitimate to restrict tobacco usage to any extent. Citizens of those think that their personal right to smoke is more important than others right to be healthy. As a result, it is totally acceptable in these countries to smoke in restaurants, offices or even schools. For example, there are many cafes in Vienna where only smoking areas exist because of the tobacco companies’ lobby. Despite being totally acceptable in some places, smoking in public areas is banned in many countries all over the world because it is dangerous for people’s health. Many scientific researchers claim that cigarette fumes cause a range of diseases which leads to serious injuries and death even for passive smokers. It illustrates that society should be protected from the harmful influence of tobacco burning products in order to make it healthier. A vivid example of this destructing effect is that if employees inhale cigarette smoke during their working day, there is an increased risk for them to develop serious diseases such as lung cancer. To conclude, it is scientifically proven that passive smoking is as harmful as a direct consumption of cigarettes, and the government should not allow smoking in public places even if some countries still allow that.