As more and more people move to cities and as cities expand in size, City life loses its appeal with this

It is irrefutable that cities are expanding rapidly due to the large number of people that are moving towards these areas. Owing to this migration, I completely agree with the statement that city life is gradually losing its appeal. Each city has a threshold of natural resources that it can provide for its inhabitants. Unfortunately, as most metropolitan cities have crossed that capacity, it is becoming quite challenging to provide basic amenities, such as water, land and fresh air, to all the people. Therefore quality of life in such areas is degrading at a very fast pace. For instance, as almost 10000 people migrate to Mumbai, every month, many slum areas have come into existence to provide shelter to a myriads of people, and as a result, around 750 thousand people live in a very small area and this place has also been the epicentre of many deadly diseases. Hence, the whole city is getting affected by it. With the rise in the number of people in the cities, number of vehicles on the road has also dramatically increased, and consequently, air and noise pollution, traffic congestion and roadway safety have also been compromised as the number of road accidents have also increased. For example, Mumbai local trains are always teeming with people, and everyone gets squashed because each person wants to board a train. Subsequently, local transportation system, within the cities has also degraded. If cities would have a limited number of immigrants, there would have been less pressure on these systems. In conclusion, I firmly opine that as number of people are increasing in a city, the quality of a city life is degrading because basic amenities and local transportation system is being compromised.