As international travel becomes cheaper, more and more countries are opening their doors to an increasing number of tourists. Do you think the advantages of increased tourism to these countries outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years, with the development of globalization, international travel becomes more convenient and more affordable, which leads to an increasing number of countries encouraging tourism. From my perspective, I think the benefits outweigh the challenges brought by this phenomenon. There is no doubt that increased tourism plays a pivotal role in boosting domestic economy during the modern age. It is generally recognized that the spending power of the tourists, international travelers in particular, is highly strong. For instance, visitors have to spend certain amount of money on accommodation, transportation, restaurant, and so forth. That is to say, the demand for related goods and services contributes to the development of leisure industry in the local countries. As a result, the government revenue would increase considerably. Furthermore, encouraging tourism can provide a number of job opportunities, which could improve local citizen’s life quality. In some developing countries, people live a poor and miserable life because of high unemployment rate. However, if the countries are capable of developing tourism, a number of new jobs would be created, including tour guide, shop sales and so on. Thus, local citizens would have higher opportunity to get employed and live a better life. It cannot be denied that these benefits do not come without drawbacks. For one thing, local tradition and places of interests are likely to be damaged with the number of visitors increasing. Some travelers are not equipped with the awareness of protecting local historical sites and heritage. In fact, it is often reported that some visitors tend to touch, rub or even hit the statue or sculpture in the scenery attractions. For another, tourists company may over-exploit the natural resources in order to attract tourists, which may lead to serious environmental issues. In conclusion, it is true that there are some challenges such as the risk of damaging attractions and environment, but I believe that these drawbacks could be avoided by adopting effective measures. The benefits brought by this trend, on the other hand, are significant to the countries’ overall development. Therefore, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.