New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Technology has revolutionized the world and the latest inventions have significantly altered the approach of children spending their leisure time. In my opinion, the disadvantages are outnumbered than its benefits as it not only affects them socially but also physically. Firstly, the prime reason why the latest technology has adversely affected the children's free time is social isolation. In other words, in order to make the most of technology, children refrain themselves from playing outdoor games in their leisure time. Consequently, their social interaction gradually becomes minimal and eventually they become isolated from society. Recent studies in the Times of India has shown that children nowadays are least interested in interacting with others owing to these technological devices or gadgets in their free time as compared to the children in the past. Hence, technology has considerably impacted their social life. Another important point to consider is that children have to pay a huge toll in terms of health due to these new technologies. Since children get tempted to new inventions such as social media, online games and many more, they cannot not hold themselves to use it. As a result, as soon as children get free time they indulge themselves in these activities. It not only affects their health as many get prone to eyesight problems, back pain and obesity but also their eating pattern becomes erratic. Therefore, it is apparent that children physically have to confront many complications because of these new technologies. However, it is irrefutable that new technology has made children tech-savvy at a very young age. Instead of frittering away their free time, they spend it using the latest devices and learn how to use them. Therefore, technology helps them to move in tandem with today's era that not only builds their confidence but also makes them smart and intelligent. To conclude, although the latest technology has changed the way children utilize their free time and make them technically sound, I believe drawbacks are far outweighed than its advantages as it keeps them socially deserted along with the deterioration of their health.