As international travel becomes cheaper, more and more countries are opening their doors to an increasing number of tourists. Do you think the advantages of increased tourism to these countries outweigh the disadvantages?

More countries are opening their doors to an increasing number of tourists as international travel besoms more affordable. Some people believe that it is a negative development because tourism can lead to adverse environmental impacts. However, I believe the advantages of increased tourism will outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the growth of tourism will contribute to a country’s economic development. For developing countries that are struggling with economic growth, international tourism is crucial because tourists bring cash to the hospitality industry. The income gained from tourism can be used to develop infrastructure and services like new roads and public facilities. More visitors also mean more job opportunities will be opened up in the host country. The increase in the employment rate in a country will lead to a lower crime rate and better living quality. On the other hand, an international tourism also promotes cultural awareness and helps to preserve local culture and traditions. Cultural and heritage tourism that attracts high-yield tourists has grown rapidly in recent years. These tourists are usually interested in Ethic attractions, heritage sites, national parks, and art galleries or museums. As a result, international tourism brings not only economic benefits, but also social benefits to the host country. The appreciation of local culture promotes the preservation of local traditions, customs, historical sites, and culture. It also helps to improve the community’s image and pride. In conclusion, the growth of international tourism is beneficial to the host country. Admittedly, the country could be at risk of environmental impact. However, these impacts can be minimized by education and promoting the eco-friendly tour. The economic and social benefits introduced by tourism will outweigh the negative consequences.