As global trade increases, many goods, including those we use on a daily basis, are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distances. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

There has been a recent increase in global trade which has led to many goods including those that we consume every day to be produced in different countries and transported long distances. Although there are benefits to be derived from this trend, there are also some drawbacks. Firstly, one obvious benefit of having different countries producing goods and services will help to boost the economy of the countries. This is because product manufacturing is one of the revenue generating sectors of the economy of many nations. Therefore, the manufacture of goods in these various countries will result to a growth in its economy. Another benefit to consider is also the employment opportunity this will create. For example, people will be employed by the manufacturing companies to carry out the roles of producers, while some others will be employed to supply the products. This is certainly a plus to every nation. On the other hand, one of the setbacks of this approach the fact that many goods are now being transported long distances. This will invariably attract additional cost for the transportation. As a result, the total cost of producing the goods would increase. The increase in the production cost would have a negative effect on the amount of profit to be generated from such products. Another drawback to consider is the tendency of such products to spoil while in transit. This applies most especially to perishable goods which are not able to travel long distances because they lose their freshness over a short period. In conclusion, there is no doubt that there are benefits to the increase in global trade, however, there are also setbacks to this trend. I believe that if the transportation service is improved on, goods will be commuted faster to their destination and perishable goods will survive.