It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

The United Nations was established at the end of the Second World War in order to provide a peaceful way to resolve national differences. Since its formation 70 years ago, there has not been a Third World War. Furthermore, the UN has expanded its global role to include many more activities besides peacekeeping. This essay will look at some of the UN’s achievements and predict what the future might hold for the organisation. It is difficult to imagine a world without the United Nations. The organisation plays a leading role in everything from conflict resolution and peacekeeping to emergency food aid and global public health. Many people trust the UN because it is a democratic organisation that reflects the interests of all its member states and not just one particular country. In this way, it can be argued that the UN has restricted the influence of powerful countries like the USA, Russia and China, while allowing smaller nations a say in global affairs. It is also effective at collecting funds from richer member states and redistributing it as economic aid or emergency assistance to parts of the world which need it most. Yet the world is a very different place from how it looked in 1945, which has led some people to question the need for a powerful organisation like the UN. In particular, there are some proponents of free trade who argue that competition and not cooperation between nations is the fastest way to pursue economic development. However, I would argue that the more nations become interdependent, the more they will require a global forum to resolve their differences. While there are other global organisations that can play a similar role, such as the World Bank and International Criminal Court, none has the scope of the UN. For that reason, the UN is sure to exist for decades to come, and possibly for another 70 years. In conclusion, the UN remains the most viable organisation for dealing with the world’s problems, and this is unlikely to change very soon.