As countries have developed, there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

Nowadays, smaller family sizes have been gaining popularity in developed countries. There are several reasons why this is the case and some effects it has on society. Due to the good social security system, people do not need to afraid whether their children will take care of them when they in old ages. In this day and age, governments invest an enormous amount of money in the social security system which provides protection for most people. For example, the elderly are able to get pension monthly from governments and the companies they have served before retirement. Another reason is that bringing up a child is costly. Parents need to take good care of them in every aspect of life, such as sending them to a good school, providing a good quality of life, and meeting their daily demands. This trend impact society in many ways. One positive effect is that the population would fall resulting in less poverty in society as there is less competition for scarce resources. Parents can provide a better education for their children and people have more opportunities to choose what career they want to pursue. One negative impact maybe there are less young people in the workforce in the future which do harm to economic growth and future prosperity. In conclusion, due to the perfect social security system and higher costs in raising children, people prefer to have smaller family sizes and this has both positive and negative impacts on society. Regardless of any impacts, this trend gets more and more popular as many countries are developing and become wealthier.