As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

In this contemporary era, most of the families are getting smaller and smaller, which tends to the small nuclear family. There are many reasons for this phenomenon, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. The first and foremost, rising cost of living compelled the people to shrink the size of family. In cosmopolitan cities, the rates of accommodations are extremely expensive, therefore, large families may face more financial issues. This is a vital reason why strength of members is reducing. Secondly, nowadays, most of the parents are working, therefore, they tend to have small the family. With the hectic schedule; they merely have a time for children, so, families spend their leisure time with children more effectively and give proper care and education. For an instance, a recent survey conducted by an eminent economist in Oxford university that in this modern era, 70% of families prefer to have only 1 kid and the rate of nuclear families are increasing day by day. There are numerous positive and negative effects to the society. The primary positive effect is that this help the countries to balance the population which obviously provide benefits to decline the poverty line. On the contrary, the negative effect is that it would lack the working force in the next decades, because there will be fewer young people in the workforce. This would substantially change the economy of the country. To sum up, there is an evident trend in countries that the family size is inclined. Moreover, it has both benefits and drawbacks on a society.