As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in smallfamily units. In your opinion, what is this cause and what are the effects onsociety?

It is increasingly common that families are currently declining in their sizes. The aims of this essay is to highlight primary factors leading to this trend and predict its potential social consequences. There are several reasons responsible for the fact that people prefer living in smaller family units compared to the past. Firstly, it is obvious that individualism is gaining more popularity, especially among younger people. The youth are likely to prefer staying by their own and freely doing what interests them rather than being restricted to the traditional responsibility of raising a family. Take my sister, who has a passion for traveling and shopping but not for marrying or bring children up, as an example. Another important cause worth mentioning is the cost. There is no doubt that the living cost of a nuclear family, which has only two generations, including parents and their offspring, is far affordable than that of an extended family, having a number of generations living under the same roof. Various problems, both welcoming and unwelcoming, relating to this tendency are anticipated. If more and more people choose to pursue a single life, this inevitably triggers a decline in the birth rate. As a result, an ageing population is expected, leading to a shortage of productive and energetic workers. A telling example is Japan, which is facing with consequences of accelerating number of elderly people, this country has to import foreign labours to fulfil the employment demand of nursing. Nevertheless, raising a miniature household can ensure a better living standard for every member. In earlier times, it was common for a family with five to ten children, and may be due to this, the rate of illiteracy was significant at that time. In conclusion, there are a host of reasons behind this trend and it causes both favourable and unfavourable impacts on society.