As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom.

The 21st century is the century of technology and we cannot imagine it without computers. Technological advancement without computers is unthinkable. In each and every field of life, the computer has the role of backbone. This can also be seen in the field of education where everything from lectures, assignments, projects, research work is being conveyed through computers. However, despite all these revolutionary changes I still feel the role of teachers in the classroom cannot be eliminated. This will be analysed in detail in the following paragraphs. The computers are being used as a major medium of communication in educational institutions, especially in the high schools and universities. For instance, online education all across the world is being communicated via computers and the lectures are either given live or recorded and the computer is the only mode of communication for delivering knowledge, not the knowledge itself. Still the fundamental about teaching and lessons remain the same and at the end, the teacher is the one imparting knowledge. Further, the computer cannot understand the mental capabilities of the student. It will only deliver what has been programmed into it. It doesn’t have an idea whether the student listening lecture is able to absorb or not? Now look at an example a computer is giving recorded lecture to one hundred students and it even doesn’t know that student is watching or involved in some other activities. Lastly, the teacher is one who is emotionally attached to his students and computer doesn’t. A teacher feels proud when his students pass the subject with good grades. Computers do not care about that at all. Finally, to summarise, the computer is a necessity for the world’s development. But I don’t think that there will be ever a time that teachers can be replaced with computers no matter how much we advance. The teachers should always think the computers as their support and the bridge for educating students.