Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

In today’s modern world, there is a colossal upsurge in the people believing that to enhance the ethnicity of a country’s culture; art plays an inevitable role in the community. To my mind, it is undeniable that to teach the children the subject of art is indispensable, due to several reasons. Although all subjects have their significance in augmenting the academic skills of the pupils, the prominence of art cannot be overlooked and should be fortified equally to remain intact with our roots and traditions. As these points require prudent elaboration, let us delve deeper into them in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, there are myriad of reasons due to which art should have a prominent focus in teaching as a compulsory subject in all of the educational institutions. Primarily, there is no denying fact that to make a nation’s cultural heritage rich and strong, the comprehensive knowledge of art, music and literature ought to be taught to the children. To explicate, children are the future generation of any community, so that, while educating a child, the educators should consider art as a primary subject to know more about its historical heritages and enrich his knowledge with the tradition as well as the aesthetic creativity of our ancient sculptures and paintings of many renowned artists. Thus, not only this enhances the creative side of the children, but also inculcate the inspiration towards learning more about art. To exemplify, Dr. Sigmund Freud, an eminent psychologist in his book on Child Development and Cognitive Skills clearly stated that art not only widens up the knowledge of children to a great extent, but also enhances their imaginative skills as well as the awareness about a variety of colours. Furthermore, there is no doubt that other subjects develop language and cognitive skills of the children. However, based on various aspects, teaching art should likely be encouraged. Predominantly, although schools teach various subjects, enriching curriculum with inevitable features of art boost great visual and conceptual skills in the students. To substantiate, as art augments several creative skills in the children, it should be mandated in the course syllabus of all of the educational institutions. Henceforth, not only enhancing the visualisation under the domain of art increases the artistic abilities and commitment towards their artwork, but also will help them in building a career in the field of art and making the ancient culture alive in their artwork. For instance, a survey conducted by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, USA in June 2019 on a group of 450 children revealed that 57% of them who have studied art as a subject shown a great inclination towards becoming a great artist or a sculptor. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although the masterpieces of art express the image of civilisation, the knowledge of art ought to be stimulated amidst the children as a mandatory subject to learn. If the government along with the masses collaboratively take measures to enhance the field of art, it will certainly flourish to its pinnacle.