In some countries, prisoners are allowed comfortable accommodation, good food, and healthcare. Do you think this is appropriate? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

There are various design approaches to prisons and prisoners’ reformation program. Some countries continued the old-fashioned method of providing the bare-minimum facilities that is sometimes borderline inhumane, whereas others offered easier access to comfortable infrastructure. I agree that it is appropriate to provide comfortable facilities in prisons because these are rudimentary human rights and that general comfort are necessary to reform the prisoners. The question revolving comfort in prisons is a result of stigma against the prisoners themselves. These convicts are often stereotyped as lesser human beings due to the crime they committed. Everyone makes mistakes and therefore deserve forgiveness and atonement. Similarly, having a basic level of comfort is every human being’s right, regardless if he or she was an offender or not. Stripping criminals away from their basic access to accommodation, good food and healthcare is simply inhumane. Furthermore, the argument of comfortable jails also stems from the misconception of a prison merely as containment for offenders instead of a rehabilitation centre. The prison is a second chance for prisoners to turn over a new leaf. Thus, psychologically speaking, a suitable environment should be designed to facilitate with reforming the convicts’ habits. To illustrate, research has shown that prisoners whose well-being is looked after while serving their sentence are less likely to succumb into crime upon release. To conclude, I strongly agree that prisoners are allowed to access comfortable facilities in jails, primarily because they are also human beings that deserve basic human rights and the second chance to contribute to the society.