Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

The way a society functions often reflects its ethos, artistry and talent pursuits. I think it is important for children to achieve proficiency in art subjects. Art plays an indispensable role in shaping and expressing the cultural aspects of any nation. If no one pursued arts, we wouldn’t have exquisite artifacts, sculptures, ornaments, and architectural monuments to boast of. It also helps us understand our ancestors, roots, and evolutionary patterns through previous civilizations. Art has a profound effect on our creativity. Art as a field of work stimulates ingenuity and inventiveness. Many famous artistic discoveries in literature, music, songs and dance forms exemplify the success of art disciplines. The well-known painting of Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci, resplendent facade and breath-taking design of Taj Mahal by Shajahan and, Eiffel tower in Paris are just a few illustrations. Likewise, many forms of music such as classical, jazz and rock performances have emerged through arts. Furthermore, art gives a platform for students to explore the hidden potentials and offers them better career alternatives. Even people from less privileged backgrounds can change their life by showcasing their artistic prowess. For example, last year the winner of India’s Got Talent hailed from a humble background. This contestant not only earned huge prize money but also got opportunities in upcoming films. Lastly, I feel it is less likely that all students will be interested in pursuing mainstream subjects. In order to have a balanced society, it is imperative that considerable proportion of students study art subjects. We need as many artists, painters, musicians, historians and media professionals as we need doctors, engineers and scientists. In summary, I believe that art greatly influences our cultural and historical knowledge in a positive way. Artistic achievements benefit individuals and society at large. New talents are unearthed. Therefore, I feel that children should be encouraged to take art subjects; however, they should be given a choice. Preferring art subjects over others should not be the norm.