An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

A number of developing and underdeveloped countries are facing the issue of brain drain. The migration of highly skilled workforce leaves the country with a lack of human resource and finance. There are a number of steps that can be taken to alleviate this problem. Firstly, the relocation of skilled professionals such as doctors and engineers causes a dearth of skilled resource in their home country. When qualified people migrate, their home country loses out on a great resource for the national institutions. Secondly, brain drain also causes a financial loss as the life long earnings of moving individual are lost with relocation. While working in their home country, a number of skilled professionals invest their savings in projects which contribute to national economy which move out with them in case of relocation. There are a number of steps that can be taken to mitigate this issue. Firstly, the organizations can ensure provision of lucrative jobs so that individuals do not contemplate migration. The organizations should come up with good remuneration packages for skilled employees. Secondly, the governments should provide basic facilities to the people so that they do not look for better lifestyle outside of the country. A number of people migrate from their home country because of the lack of basic facilities such as roads and electricity. Better facilities to live will definitely result in lesser instances of migration. In conclusion, brain drain is a pressing concern which causes loss of both human resource and investment. The governments and companies have to act now to provide better facilities and salaries to skilled professionals so that this trend can be stemmed.