Some people think that honesty is the best policy. Others believe that it is acceptable to lie in certain situations. What is your opinion?

While some people believe that the best policy is to be honest with each other, others argue that it is not always the case. Although I am an advocate for honesty in most situations, there are acceptable lies as long as they come from good intentions. Honesty is an important virtue in maintaining structure within the self and in a society as well as in fostering relationships with others. A person will probably experience an internal sense of chaos if he/she is not true to himself/herself. In addition, if everyone starts lying to each other, the society will also become chaotic. For example, companies cannot do businesses with each other based on dishonesty and manipulation. One more reason why honesty is crucial is it is the foundation of human relationships. It is very difficult to build and maintain a relationship on a bed of lies. Dishonesty is the cause for trust issues that many couples experience nowadays. On the other hand, I believe that total transparency and honesty are neither necessary nor helpful under certain circumstances. The truth can sometimes assist or hinder a person or a relationship. For example, a child who is unfit and untalented in playing basketball but desperately wanting to improve will not benefit from hearing the “ugly” truth that he is not good at basketball. He may take a while to improve with lots of encouragement even if it means to tell him that he is good enough to play. Over time, the right sort of support will help build up his confidence, and he may eventually become much better at this choice of sport. In conclusion, for the most part, honesty is indeed the best policy. However, we need to be careful of the impact of our honesty, which can hurt our loved ones; therefore in some small cases it might be better to tell lies that do not cause any major damage.