Many people say that we have developed into a “throw-away” culture because we are filling up our environment with so many plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of.

Nowadays people produce more waste than ever, as they are accustomed to a “throw-away” lifestyle. And it’s become worst as they generate wastes which are difficult to be disposed of. I personally agree with the statement and the following essay will explain it in details. To begin with, as the world economic has developed, people generate more waste each year. With the mass industrialisation, costs of producing products such as the plastic bottle or disposable diapers are getting lower than ever. As a result, lots of people prefer to use these kinds of products, as they believe that these items are more efficient and hygiene. However, they do not realise that these products have a catastrophic effect on the environment. It is very difficult to recycle these items, as it requires for more than a century to dispose of them. Consequently, people require more landfills these days which will reduce the number of green areas. However, to resolve the issue, we could change the habits of purchasing non-environmentally friendly products. For example, instead of buying mineral water that is packed in the plastic bottle, we could use a glass bottle that can be repeatedly used. In terms of recycling, the glass bottle is easier than the plastic one and safer for the human’s health as well. It has been reported that plastic bottles could cause cancers and other kinds of serious diseases. Another example would be to use a paper bag or a permanent bag as a substitution of plastic bags. By changing these kinds of lifestyle, it is hoped that we could reduce the number of non-disposable waste in the area. In conclusion, it is undeniable that people generate more waste these days, as they have a “throw-away” habit. And it gets worst, as many of the waste are non-disposable. I strongly agree with the statement, and we should change this negative lifestyle immediately. We could start by changing our lifestyle from using disposable items to consuming a friendly environment one, and hoped that the number of waste would be reduced gradually.