An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online.

Nowadays, e-commerce has become popular in our society. For many people, it has become a trend in buying online. However, there are pros and cons in deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why online shopping has positives and some of the challenges to be overcome. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of online purchases. One of the main reasons why people are inclined to shop online is for discounts. In other words, the product they purchase is relatively cheaper compared to buying it in a conventional method. Let's take Flipkart as an example, the company offers huge discounts on all categories of products ranging from clothing to groceries. During this Diwali season, their offers were so tempting that my whole family did their shopping online. Another reason why individuals prefer online shopping is that they could finish their shopping at convenience from home. Finally, many companies profit from e-commerce, especially no rental cost for their showrooms. For example, One Plus, the mobile company sells its products online only. This indicates that both individuals and companies are benefitted from e-commerce. Turning to the other side of the argument, there are few disadvantages to online shopping. First, the customers won't be assured that the product they buy is genuine. In a recent survey, more than fifty percent of customers were cheated with either by sending the wrong item or by sending used one. Secondly, e-commerce is making people less social. For instance, when I do shopping with my family, we not only buy things but also have conversations with other people in the store and develop our social network. Online shoppers will be missing the chance of networking with people. Last but not least, companies would need to spend more money on logistics to deliver the product from their warehouse to the delivery address. With an increasing trend in oil and gas rates, companies need to seriously consider. This often leads to a position where conventional shopping is simple and best. In conclusion, with an uptrend in online shopping by most of the people we need to weigh up the pros of offers provided by companies, and luxury, people can shop from anywhere and cons of customer's confidence of receiving the genuine item to make any further decision