SPORTS PROFESSIONALS CAN EARN A GREAT DEAL MORE MONEY THAN PEOPLE IN OTHER IMPORTANT PROFESSIONS. SOME PEOPLE THINK THIS IS FULLY JUSTIFIED, WHILE OTHERS THINK IT IS UNFAIR.

Professional athletes might have higher incomes than people with regular but critical job positions. Although part of society argues that is fair, others believe the difference is unreasonable. From my perspective, the higher salaries are compatible with the financial return. Those who agree that workers such as doctors, educators, or firemen should earn better salaries than sports professionals mention that players give a limited return to society, because they only play a significant role in the entertainment business, consequently essential areas as health, security, and education might be underestimated. For instance, while the principal goal of a soccer players is winning a championship, the main objective of doctors is saving lives, which it is widely accepted as being more important. Moreover, some critical professions as policemen and firefighters should earn better incomes, because they put their lives in risk daily, therefore higher earnings would encourage people to follow this career. On the other hand, it is believed that professional players give better a financial return to employers, since countless fans purchase tickets, uniforms, and accessories related to them, which results in millionaire incomes for both team owner and athletes. Take as an example Neymar, who raised in 45% his team profit after getting in the group, thanks to gold products sold with his name brand. Furthermore, sports players are a select group among millions of amateur athletes, because of the difficult training and daily sacrifices to be the best, as a result, they unreplaceble in their areas. To conclude, I believe that professional athletes should receive higher salaries, despite the detrimental importance of proffessionals of other areas. That is because not only do they generate more money, but also are unique.